Xbox E3 17 Briefing 


     Another year, another June, and another Xbox E3. This year has been with a lot of hype, mostly due to Project Scorpio being revealed during the briefing. Now, I do believe that Xbox needed to bring its A game. Sony has had the upper hand and if Microsoft wanted to get on top it would need to wow us with the Scorpio and Exclusive game titles. Coming from a previous PS fan boy I switched to Xbox due to Halo and many other reasons also. But, Sony has had a great few decades. The PS2 was by far my childhood favorite. Then the likes of the PS3, and PS4 introducing themselves. I’ve never played on the PS4, so I can’t say much about it, but the PS3 was the last Sony console I owned before choosing my other gaming console Xbox 360 S as my main system. Yes, I miss the PS, but with the lack of exclusives I’m pondering wether I should go back to the PS or just continue my PC gaming.

     The show started with the debut of the Project Scorpio Reveal. Now I did wish they would have made it look more beefier and sexy, but sadly that wasn’t the case. I do like that style more over the original Xbox One VHS housing. It really reminds me of a squared version of the PS3. Yes, I just said that. The PS3 had the small half inch space at the bottom for USB ports, then the main part would overlap that. But, it has a nice touch to it. As it was told during the briefing, the system is actually the smallest of the Xbox One Family. It also apparently has liquid cooling technology inside as well. Which is usually the case with PC’s and not Consoles. I guess that will help with overheating.

     Project Scorpio is now renamed to Xbox One X. Which sounds like a cool name, but calling it the Xbox One Elite and having the Elite controller packed with it like the XOElite 1tb console to me might have sounded better. The release date is set for November 7th. Which throws out speculation that there were some possible hidden messages that some state was the name and release date. As far as the price goes, I was expecting this console to be $600-$700. That’s a little high, but a premium price is a lot of money. But, it’s price would be the same as when the Xbox One first came out with the Kinect sensor. A modest $499.99. Which in terms makes it still affordable. 
     Now, in terms of if you should buy it or not is up to you. The only advantage you will have is possible faster load times, 4K video, and VR once that becomes available. Even though VR was skipped altogether during the briefing. Of course 4K isn’t going to happen unless you have a 4K tv. But Xbox Head Phil Spencer did say that the console will work with 1080p HDTV’s, but that you would get the best experience with a 4K tv. I personally believe if your not into VR, or 4K than your probably better off with sticking with the Xbox One S.

     While taking a break from the 40 something game previews and 22 exclusives Xbox Head Phil Spencer did want to talk about the Backwards compatibility program. Stating that there are well over 300+ Xbox 360 titles available. As well as that over half the Xbox one owners have bought at least 1 BC title. It’s then that Spencer introduced something new coming to the Backwards Compatibility program later this year. This program was announced by a green blob in the middle of the screen that if you paid attention to would find familiar as the green blob that appeared after you started your Origional Xbox system and then turning into the green X with Xbox underneith it. The entire room started to scream and yell as Phil Spencer introduce Original Xbox games coming to the Backwards Compatibility program. Now I personally wanted to scream myself. There are a lot of Xbox games I loved playing that I would like to play right now. Some people might not remember the game “Spy vs Spy” but my friends and I had a field day with that game. It would be interesting to see it come back. 

Xbox showed of a lot of interesting games. Including, 
Forza Motorsport 7

Sea of thieves

Assasins Creed Origins

State of Decay 2

The Darwin Project

Crackdown 3

Ori and the will of the wisps

Anthem

     There were a lot of games showed, more cartoon than heavy shooters. But even the indie games seems pretty cool as far as story and game play. As I mention before VR wasn’t talked about during the briefing. Either Xbox will announce that later this year or wait till E3 next year. Also shown was Minecraft. The update graphics for the One X and that there will be cross platform play with any console and many servers. But, I felt like something was missing. Something that I would think would be launched with The Xbox One X this fall which brings me to my next head line. 

     No one can say that Halo hasn’t been around for a very long time. It was released nearly 16 years ago in November. Let’s do a little break down of the major titles and some sub titles for each console

Xbox – Halo/Halo 2

Xbox 360 – Halo 3/Halo Wars/ Halo 3 ODST/Halo FoR/Halo 4

Xbox One – Master Chief Collection/Halo 5/ Halo Wars 2

     With this you can tell that Xbox one has the most Halo games. Now if we go by release then The 360 wins the round. But, there has been word from 343i that Halo 6 wouldn’t be making an appearance at E3, also they quickly shot down the possibility of a Halo 3 Aniversory. But, they said they had a little something at E3 waiting for us. While the briefing went on and my anticipation nearly over flowing as to what 343i had in store for us, the show ended and I was left in disappointment. 343i never took the stage to announce anything. But remembering back, Phil Spencer did acknowledge that if you had a copy of GoW 4, Halo Wars 2, or Forza Horizon 3 you would be getting a free upgrade to the 4k version when Xbox One X hit shelves in November. So, if this is the “Little Something” that 343i mentioned then I’m really disappointed. It’s been nearly 2 years since Halo 5 was released. Now I understand that with the Halo 5 fiasco that 343i would want to make Halo 6 the best possible and take as much time needed. A simple teaser trailer wouldn’t be all that bad. But, I guess we shall have to wait till E3 2018 to find out about Halo 6. 

     With that I conclude that Xbox had a pretty good E3 briefing. There are some indie games I’m excited about, some Maine games im also excited about. Xbox has 22 exclusive titles coming our way. But I felt like they were still holding back. Especially with VR. I’ve never tried VR and to be honest I don’t know if I would like it, but I would like to have seen them show of a demo of VR. But this E3 was mostly for the 40+ games they wanted to show off. I’m more into PC gaming and the only thing keeping me bound to an Xbox is Halo. But, maybe things will be a little better later on. I’m looking forward to the release of Xbox One X. Are you?

Leave a Reply

